Celebrating the Champions of the 2016-2017 Season

Thursday, January 26 2017
Share On Facebook
Share On Twitter
Share On Google Plus
RW4_7371 RW4_7395 RW4_7406 RW4_7428 RW4_7433 RW4_7465 RW4_7501 RW4_7539

The 2016-2017 season of the Asian Le Mans Series has come to a close, and after four action-packed rounds of four-hour races in four different countries, the titles have been decided and won. Now that the awards party is over and the teams can concentrate on their next endeavours, we wanted to take a moment to go over the championship titles in each class.

Algarve Pro Racing took home the LMP2 Team Championship title for their #25 Algarve Pro Racing Ligier JSP2 Nissan with 76 points, which they secured with their win in the final race and a podium at each other round. Jackie Chan DC Racing made it to 2nd with the #35 Jackie Chan DC Racing Oreca 03R Nissan, the LMP2 team with the most wins this season, having won in Zhuhai and Buriram, but their DNF in Sepang meant that they missed out on the top spot. The third place team trophy went to the #24 Algarve Pro Racing Ligier JSP2 Judd thanks to their three podiums. Race Performance’s #8 Oreca 03R Judd rounded out the LMP2 table with 55 points, placing them 4th with a win and a podium.

The Driver’s Championship title in LMP2 went to Andrea Roda, having started the season in the #24 Algarve Pro Racing Ligier JSP2 Judd, he then switched over to the #25 sister car, to his advantage, which won him the top spot in the driver rankings with 78 points.

Andrea Pizzitola was second with 76 points to his name, having spent the full season in the #25 Algarve Pro Racing Ligier JS P2 Nissan. Ho-Pin Tung and Gustavo Menezes shared the third step with 69 points from their season in the #35 Jackie Chan DC Racing Oreca 03R.

Tockwith Motorsports took home the LMP3 Team Championship title with the #26 Ligier JSP3, with two wins and a podium giving them 77 points for the season. ARC Bratislava’s #4 Ginetta LMP3 took home the 2nd place Team Trophy with 63 points, and the #1 Jackie Chan DC Racing Ligier JSP3 was 3rd.

Nigel Moore and Phil Hanson, the only consistent two-driver crew of the season, claimed the Driver’s Championship title in LMP3, with 77 points to their name following their strong debut season in the #26 Tockwith Motorsports Ligier JSP3, including three pole positions for Nigel Moore. Seventeen-year-old Phil Hanson also picked up rookie of the year, having impressed with his driving skills and speed over the season. Sharing second in the drivers LMP3 title are Darren Burke from the #4 ARC Bratislava Ginetta LMP3 and James Winslow and David Cheng from the #1 Jackie Chan DC Racing Ligier JSP3, with 63 points each. Miro Konopka and Mike Simpson took home the third place trophy for their season in the #7 ARC Bratislava Ginetta LMP3, totalling 61 points.

In the GT class, the top two spots were won by DH Racing, a strong result for their first season, the #5 Ferrari 488 GT3 taking the GT class Team Championship title with 62 points, including one win and one podium. The sister car, the #3 Ferrari 488 GT3, despite having a DNF in Zhuhai, was second with 54 points, thanks to a win and a podium, as well as a pole position. Third went to the #37 Team BBT Ferrari 488 GT3, a mere point behind at 53 points with their three podiums and two pole positions. Definitely a strong season for Ferraris.

This translates in the GT Driver’s Championship to Michele Rugolo taking the title with 62 points, being the sole driver to remain on the #5 DH Racing Ferrari 488 GT3 for the full season. Second place is shared however by Rino Mastronardi, Alex Riberas and Olivier Beretta, all three faithful to the #3 DH Racing Ferrari 488 GT3, totalling 54 points by the end of the season, including a point from Riberas’ pole in Sepang. Third place in the driver standings, one point behind, was shared by Anthony Liu, Davide Rizzo and Alessandro Pier Guidi who all drove in the #37 Team BBT Ferrari 488 GT3 this season, with Pier Guidi who scored two pole positions for the crew.

The GT Cup Class Championship Team trophy was won by #96 TKS Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, thanks to their win in both Fuji and Sepang. Team NZ were second in class with their win in Buriram with the #77 Team NZ Porsche 911 GT3 Cup.

Shinyo Sano and Takuma Aoki took home the Driver’s Championship title with 52 points from the #96 Porsche. Graeme Dowsett and John Curran shared second place with their 44 points from the #77 Porsche. Takuya Shiraka, Shigeto Nagashima and Paul Kanjanpas shared third at 26 points, having each just taken part in one race.

Having only had one team entry in the CN class, PS Racing took home the team title trophy with the #68 PS Racing Ligier JS53. The driver’s title was shared by all who took part this year, Kenji Abe, Akihiro Asai, Qin Tianqi, Tira Sosothikul and Medhapan Sundaradeja.

A special ‘Man of the Year’ prize was awarded to Mok Weng Sun for his commitment to the series, as well as for Clearwater Racing’s hope for climbing up the ranks of the Endurance Racing ladder by applying to enter the FIA World Endurance Championship next year.

Team of the year was awarded to Algarve Pro Racing, thanking them for their two-car effort in LMP2 in the Asian Le Mans Series after their campaign in the ELMS.

Thanks to their Championship titles from the season, Algarve Pro Racing, Tockwith Motorsports and DH Racing have each received invitations to take part in the 24 Hours of Le Mans in June.